Google clearly spends more time optimizing new users signing up, than users closing their accounts. I’m attempting to close a few old accounts, and it’s a nightmare, including horribly incorrect HTML. In one case, I had to manually set a “display: none” on one of their horribly-stretched G+ logos so I could see the error message underneath.